June 1, 2017 Release Date! 

No More No Name- In the second book of the series, Bobby emerges as a star basketball player, falls for the girl next door, and comes to the aid of a friend—a non-Choctaw teammate with an angry dad. 

2014 American Indian Youth Literature Award, Best Middle Grade Book

How I Became A Ghost- "Maybe you have never read a book written by a ghost before." So opens this exciting Choctaw Trail of Tears middle grade novel, narrated by young Isaac, destined to become the ghostly helper of his family and fellow Choctaws. Joined by Jumper, his talking dog, and teenage friends Naomi and Joseph, Isaac learns the ways of the ghost world, striving to protect the living from freezing snows and Leader, the tormenting soldier. Filled with humor and adventure, HIBAG is the first book in a series.

Walking The Choctaw Road- Tingle's first book, written when he was a graduate student at the University of Oklahoma, is a collection of eleven short stories, covering life among the Choctaws from 1800's Mississippi to modern times. Included are short story versions of later children's illustrated books: "Saltypie" and "Crossing Bok Chitto," plus the beginnings of the "How I Became A Ghost" series, "Trail of Tears." Oklahoma's and Alaska's 2005 Book of the Year on the One Book-One State program.

Danny Blackgoat, Navajo Prisoner- A young Navajo boy attempts to escape during the Long Walk of 1863, and finds himself in a Civil War prison at Fort Davis, Texas.

Danny Blackgoat, Rugged Road To Freedom- This second book of the trilogy continues the story of our teenage Navajo hero, now chased by soldiers and slave-trading bandits. From one brutal struggle to the next, Danny finds friends on a cattle ranch, and is determined to rescue his family.    

2008 American Indian Youth Literature Award, Best Children's Book

Crossing Bok Chitto- Martha Tom crosses the river into slave territory in 1800 Choctaw Nation (today's Mississippi) and meets Lil Mo and his family of field workers. When her new friend's mother is sold, Martha Tom plans a daring late-night escape, by walking on the water.

Crossing Bok Chitto was an Editor’s Choice in the New York Times Book Review.

Tingle and Naomi Caldwell at 2014 AIYLA Ceremony


   ​Danny Blackout, Dangerous Passage

In the unforgettable finale to the Danny Blackgoat series, Jim Davis, a Confederate soldier who rescued Danny, is sentenced to be hung for horse theft. Danny must choose—allow his friend to hang for a crime he did not commit, or turn himself in.

2014 American Indian Youth Literature Awards Honor Book

2015 Wordcraft Circle of Native Writers Award, Best Middle Grade Book 

Spring, 2017 Release! When A Ghost Talks, Listen- In the second book in the series, Choctaw Chief Pushmataha leads our young heroes, ghosts and non, on a time-traveling journey to 1824 Washington, D.C., to the building of our nation's capitol and events leading to the Trail of Tears. We meet rattlesnake Stella, a Choctaw elder woman, so quiet and sweet—till someone makes her angry. 

Saltypie- Tingle's story of his Choctaw grandmother, Mawmaw, and her journey from Indian boarding schools in Oklahoma to the Texas Gulf Coast. A magical family journey that inspired Tingle's determination to become a writer.

No Name- In present-day Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma, teenager Bobby digs an underground home in his backyard. His mother has left and his father is a bullying alcoholic. When Bobby has a chance to be a starter on the high school basketball team, he must climb out of his cave and face his father. To give him hope, his coach tells him the old Choctaw story, "No Name," of a father/son conflict with a surprising ending. 

2016 American Indian Youth Literature Award, YA Book

House of Purple Cedar- Set in 1890's Indian Territory (today the state of Oklahoma), HOPC is told in the voice of Rose, a twelve year-old Choctaw girl who sees her boarding school burn to the ground. When her elderly grandfather is struck by a mean-spirited sheriff, the conflict moves to the spirit world, as good and evil battle for control. Unshakeable faith in goodness marks this book with a unique vision of the Choctaw world—of ghost children still clinging to their mother, protective panthers on the prowl, and firefly graveyard warnings.

Flying Lessons and Other Stories, released January, 2017

​        photo taken by the same iPhone that I use when I write and drink my starry bucks coffee in New Braunfels, after visiting my old buddy

Doc Moore. He still loves listening to his Willie Nelson music, especially

"Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain." My short story in the anthology is "Choctaw Bigfoot, Midnight in the Mountains." I've already written the middle grade novel based on the story, but nobody is insisting that I hit the SEND button yet, so nobody has seen it. I was hoping to read it to Mom, since she's a late-blooming heroine in the book, but she left us a few months ago at age 96. ("Halito, Mom. Love you!")

Whether it is basketball dreams, family fiascos, first crushes, or new neighborhoods, this bold anthology—written by the best children’s authors—celebrates the uniqueness and universality in all of us. In a partnership with

We Need Diverse Books, industry giants Kwame Alexander, Soman Chainani, Matt de la Peña, Tim Federle, Grace Lin, Meg Medina, Walter Dean Myers, Tim Tingle, and Jacqueline Woodson join newcomer Kelly J. Baptist in a story collection that is as humorous as it is heartfelt. This impressive group of authors has earned among them every major award in children’s publishing and popularity as New York Times bestsellers.

             Tim says: My favorite story is by Matt de la Peña. Shhhh...that's a secret

From these distinguished authors come ten distinct and vibrant stories.

“There’s plenty of magic in this collection to go around.” –Booklist, Starred

“A natural for middle school classrooms and libraries, this strong collection should find eager readers”
–Kirkus, Starred

WNDB is excited to share the news that FLYING LESSONS & OTHER SHORT STORIES edited by Ellen Oh is available for purchase! This anthology for middle grade readers also includes a story by debut author Kelly J. Baptist, winner of the WNDB short-story contest.